Sauteed Tofu and Mushrooms

23 Apr

image

Vegetarian Suppers From Deborah Madison’s Kitchen strikes again;
this time with Seared Tofu and Mushroom Sauté.

The Washington Post put an adaptation of this recipe on the web for all to use.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/pb/recipes/seared-tofu-and-mushroom-saute/7608/

This meal is a pretty easy one to make, entailing mostly a lot of pre chopping work and some easy pan sautéing.

What really makes the flavor of this dish so nice is the tarragon. It has an herby sweetness that is exotic to our pallet and makes this dish very exciting.

To start, I chopped up the garlic, tarragon, and pepper.

image

Next, I drained a package of firm tofu and cut it into small cubes.
Then, in a big skillet I simmered an inch of salted water and gently added the tofu. This cooked for about 4 minutes and then I lightly tossed the tofu out into a colander.

image

I heated a little oil in a nonstick skillet and then added in the chopped tarragon mixture and stirred it tilled it was fragrant. Then I tossed in chopped mushrooms and onions and let them cook through.

image

Soy sauce and brown sugar round out the veggies with a sweet sauce.
For my version of this recipe, I added in rice instead of rice noodles.
Mix it up and the flavors all come together.

image

2 Responses to “Sauteed Tofu and Mushrooms”

  1. Ari April 29, 2014 at 3:49 pm #

    Yum!! These are great shots. I came across this forum posted by another Food photographing friend and I thought you might enjoy it: http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/52739735

    • Dara May 7, 2014 at 11:14 pm #

      Thanks Ari 🙂

Leave a comment